I’m still going! Act 10 – Goggling

On Saturday the 40acts task was to go screen free. As a massive football fan, and an obsessive checker of BBC news, emails and twitter, this was never going to be an easy task. First of all, Saturday is football day. I cannot remember the last Saturday I have had were I haven’t watched any football. Whether it is a 3pm trip to the Pub, enjoying the antics of fellow Sorted Magazine contributor Dan Walker on FootballFocus,  or watching Match-of-the-day’s three musketeers (Lineker, Shearer and Hansen), football is a central part of my weekend. Even when I was visiting my girlfriend in Durham last weekend I still managed to squeeze in a trip to see Newcastle at St.James’ Park and the Carling Cup Final on BBC (extra time and all!). So the thought of a football free Saturday was a bout as enticing as a stroll in the park with Atilla the Hun.

The task was made slightly easier as I was working a wedding from 12 til 8 so any mid-day pub trips were off the cards already. I quickly realised that my time keeping skills on a Saturday are primarily dependant on Premier-league kick-off times, so, an hour into the shift I was aware that Arsenal and Liverpool had already played 15 minutes at Anfield. My palms began to sweat as I realised the hopelessness of the situation. Anything could have happened at Anfield and I wouldn’t know. The bride and groom were lucky that my beloved Newcastle United weren’t playing as I’d have been a quivering wreck, sure to rudely interrupt their vows with a person plea of ‘please, just somebody tell me the score!’   . Amazingly, the preacher on the day, an avid football fan himself, began the sermon by declaring that Arsenal were 2-1 up. As we well know, ‘in all things God works for the good of those who love….football?’.

I’m kidding of course, but It has begun me thinking about my idols in life, things that too often I put before God. Here is a start to a long list; football, pride, knowledge, relationships, TV, clothes, money, success, power, comfort, responsibility, respect…. the list goes on. Too often do I get home from work and switch on the TV, I watch lots of rubbish and things that it would be gracious to even call rubbish (you know who you are Jeremy Kyle fans). I’m currently doing a lot of writing for a series of Lad’s Bible Studies to be released in November. The deadlines have meant that I have had to seriously look at my TV habits and my massive amount of screen time, something that is far from healthy (how many of you are reading this with the box on in the background?). I’m now aiming to goggle less, to dedicate time for writing and studying and to spend more time having decent conversations. Maybe you should too!

Leave a Reply

